Applications are now being accepted for the 2020 Street Tree Matching Grant where grantees can receive up to $50,000.

Funded by Miami-Dade County, this grant engages municipalities, agencies, non-profits, foundations, and community groups in planting native or Florida-friendly trees on streets, including corridors, gateways, bus stops, and connections to schools and parks. Applicants are encouraged to consider a comprehensive approach to tree planting that includes maintenance and outreach plans.

This grant aims to help the Million Trees Miami campaign, a community-wide effort to plant one million trees to achieve a 30 percent tree canopy for Miami-Dade County. Submission deadline is Friday, November 15, 2019.

To apply, click here!

On March 22, 2019, Miami-Dade County School Board Chair Perla Tabares Hantman was awarded the 2019 Trailblazer Award by the Miami-Dade City/County Management Association and the Miami-Dade County League of Cities.  This award is given annually in recognition of efforts by outstanding women in our community.  This year’s award was held in Pinecrest Gardens in the Village of Pinecrest.  The first ever recipient of this award was Congresswoman Ileana Ros-Lehtinen who was on hand at this year’s award ceremony to help present the award to Mrs. Hantman.  Also participating in the presentation of the award was Senator Bob Graham who said “It is an honor to recognize Perla for all her many years of leadership, commitment and dedication to the children of our community.”    Mrs. Hantman has served on the Miami-Dade County School Board since 1996 and has been elected to an unprecedented 11 terms as the Chair of the School Board.  Ramiro Inguanzo, incoming President of the Miami-Dade City/County Management Association said “Chairwoman Hantman has spent over 30 years working to improve the quality of educational opportunities for children from pre-k through college and she was an obvious choice for this year’s award.”

On Saturday, June 22, 2019, the MDCCMA held its annual installation ceremony for the newly elected Executive Board Members.  The event was held at the Ritz-Carlton, Bal Harbour with nearly 50 members and guests in attendance.  Congratulations to the 2019-2020 Executive Board: President Ramiro Inguanzo, Bal Harbour Village; Vice President J.C. Jimenez, Bay Harbor Islands; Secretary Angela Gasca, Village of Pinecrest; Treasurer Kathryn Matos, City of Sunny Isles Beach.