How to Become A Licensed Massage Therapist in Texas

Updated: Nov 24, 2018

 

The process can be done in these steps:

1. Enroll in a Certified Massage Therapy School

2. Pass the 500 hours required by the State of Texas

3. Take and Pass the MBLEx Test

4. Submit All Transcripts and Pay Fee to TDLR

 

There are many fulfilling careers for a licensed massage therapist!

 

You could choose to work in a luxurious spa;

Travel the world doing massage on a cruise ship;

You could open your own independent practice;

Have a fulfilling career helping the elderly;

or, even work with your favorite team as a sports therapist.

 

No matter the path you choose, you’re sure to have a satisfying career as a massage therapist in Texas

 

So how does one become licensed as a massage therapist in Texas?

 

 

 

 

You can get licensed in just 3 easy steps:

 

The first step is to enroll in a licensed massage school and pass the required 500-hour massage therapy program like the one offered by the Austin Massage Academy.

 

Next, get a passing score on the massage and bodyworks licensing exam. The MBLEx test is administered by the Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards (https://www.fsmtb.org/)

 

Finally, fill out an application and submit all appropriate work to the Texas Department of Licensing and Registration, along with a hundred dollar fee. The TDLR can be contacted at https://tdlr.texas.gov

 

It’s as simple as that!

 

Take the first step today and contact the Austin Massage Academy and learn how you can become a licensed massage therapist in Texas.